top of page

Devastate


3.5 "I've forgotten to be me" Stars When tragedy strikes not only once but twice, where does your life go? What path will you take, and how much will it change who you once were? The most devastated tragedies either make who we are, or break who we are. And that is what happened to Evie. Evie became a shell of her former self. The people she has lost have formed her to be distant and miserable. She would rather live in pain, knowing that the pain is the only way she'll never forget. Almost like a happy punishment for what she has to endure. It might not be living, but it's the only way she can live. I think that's what was the saddest in this story for me. Evie was such a strong woman broken by the past of her life. Scared to live and make a life outside of what she once knew. And I understood that side of her because sometimes it's easier to not live than to feel guilty for doing so. I feel like Marley did a good job writing Devastated. The only thing I would have to say is that the story was a slow build up. I felt like the 15% were where the story finally blossomed. Evie was a well written character along with Elliot who was just trying to do right and get his own answers, to Lior who was patient, kind, and loving, and fierce about following his heart and the woman who was broken. Lior did not want to fix Evie, he wanted to know who the woman was with all the pain in her eyes. He wanted her to find someone who she can open up to and live a little and not feel guilt. But most of all, he knew the enigma that is Evie would be more than he set his eyes on. Overall, I liked the story and the characters. I mostly loved Lior as the H because with him, he showed the reader that love can be patient and love can be kind. I'm interested to see where else Marley goes with her future work. Thank you for letting me be apart of your journey.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page