top of page

Damage control (A Dirty Money novel #2)

4.5 "in control" stars

The people closest to you can hurt you the most.

After Shane confronts Emily for the false presentation she acted upon making him believe she was a spy working against him, Emily can't explain it by telling him the truth about her background and what she's actually running from, cause she wants to protect him from it. She runs away, but she's desperate, lost and alone and Shane „feels“ that even though Emily hides the truth from him, is not really working against him nor she wants to harm him in any way. Using his every resources available, he finds her and confronts her again. This time with a different result.

Things happen for a reason. I believe that, and you belong with me now.

Emily is adamant to leave Shane out of it but he pushes her into admission, leaving him with yet another „problem“ to deal with, in a form of a dangerous organisation called Geminis, along with the treacherous ways of conduct within his own family, the lies, the betrayal, adding the shady deals his brother Derrek has with the Martina drug cartel that want to enter into their family emipre…the secrets that are slowly eating on the threads of the family relations, leaving space to more doubts, dirty plays, hidden agendas and ploys to take over the leading role of the legacy Shane is blindly adamant to safe and guide through legal channels.

You are the best damn thing that's ever happened to me. I'm trying to make sure my family doesn't destroy us.

There's so much pressure on Shane that he's struggling to keep up with the control and with a clear head when it's all wearing him down every step of the way…

I need to do damage control Lies destroy, but I fear the truth is worse.

So while Shane is coping to handle the problems leaking from every possible known and unknown direction…

There is a war raging not just with my family, but within me, between good and evil.

It's Emily who gives him anchor and his sole purpose is driven around her, to keep her safe and beside him…

Cause she's the source of both, his strength and his weakness, but without her, it wouldn't have no sense to continue with the whole rampage, destruction and shuttering the family he never quite fit into…until her, and he will go any length to protect what's his.

…this war has changed me. I know that winning it – which I must- will change me even more. But I am also certain that I won't lose myself, as long as I don't lose Emily.

Damage control is the sequel to the Hard rules in the Dirty money series and it continues right where the book 1 ended, therefore must be read in that order. This story is throwing us right into the fire of undulated passion between Shane and Emily as they regain trust in one another and fight off the odds that are immensly smothering and threathing to their own existence but in fact it only makes them closer in binding in an eternal war where you have to do the wrong thing to make it right and while coping with the notion of it. Thrilling, exciting and passionate story of two people leaning on each other through out the raging storm of crime, betrayal and lies in the merciless games of corporate world. Eagerly expecting book 3 Bad deeds … ***ARC given by the author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review***

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page