top of page

To Have It All

3.75 "Choose wisely" stars Maximus Greyson Porter III - a rich man with a bad personality, brass, unpleasant, rude, conceited, mean... Liam - a mechanic, a man with a bad luck that set course on the wheel of fortune to turn on him, he ends up jobless and eventually homeless, still not actually grasping the full amount of bad coming down on him...but he's a good man, a proud man with high moral values, he always have been... Karma - "the bitch" yeah, she appears here too... One fateful day, on the 24th of August...Liam will save Max's life, but Max will do the unthinkable, running from the scene of the accident leaving Liam to die... and karma will do her thing... not because she's an actual bitch but because, for the human's to be able to keep their "human" side need hope...

There is magic in this world beyond any explanation. It exists only because a scale steadies the universe, and it is the unknown that keeps the balance.The human race needs miracles; it needs the unthinkable to happen because without it, hope would not exist.

and sometimes people need a lesson or two to learn...and the best way they do that is to see what they actually had and lost, or what they could have had and cherish it more, even if it was as flickery as the thought itself. with a snap of her fingers, Liam's conscience switches with Max's by changing bodies. and suddenly, five days after the accident, Liam is in Max's body "living", "experiencing" Max's life, coping with the "unthinkable", trying to find the sense in it, Liam's scared yet determined to figure things out, and maybe try to make them better while finding his way back...but when he encounters Waverly and her little daughter, (Max's ex-wife and child, whom he won't acknowledge), suddenly the "unthinkable" becomes "desirable" as Liam can't help but fall in love with her, as well as he becomes attached to little girl...and all he wants is for Waverly, to see beyond the physical, beyond the body of the man she hates...cause all she sees is Max, and not the different persona in him, that is Liam...

"Please. Please see me."

the time is limited as Liam's body is failing after the accident and there's isn't much to do but to give it all of himself until the uncertain fate decides about the matter...of life and death

"I may only have one more day in this world, and I know I don't want to spend it with anyone but you."

First of all, I would like to emphasize that BN Toler is one of my very fave authors who also wrote one of my all times favorite book Where one goes and even though I will jump blindly into anything she writes, this time, it was a bit different experience for me. I loved the idea. It was perfectly mysterious and intriguing and BN Toler always puts her readers through an inner turmoil of emotional rollercoaster, reminding us of those little life lessons that we tend to forget while taking them for granted. BUT here, I missed it. There wasn't that much of an emotional span I was expecting. I loved Liam. I loved Waverly. BUT I didn't "feel" them together. I LOVED them separately. I could understand Max, though I did not even like him, one tiny bit, I could see where he was coming from after I have learned the circumstances around him that influenced his remarkably shitty behavior. And that was basically the main reason why I didn't relate more to the characters. I also found a bit awkward and confusing the "presentation/description" of the "body switching" transition provided by the author and my own "visualisation" of the presented material. I felt like I didn't have enough time to actually grip the emotional connection between Liam and Waverly while she's still fighting the "image" of Max's physique in front of her. It wasn't "palpable" enough for me, no matter how much I immeresed myself into the story. I was just missing that "little gluing touch" that would make me fall in love with them together. And still in the end, I had no empathy for Max. In fact, I think he deserved what happened to him or as he would say, that he had lost. But he couldn't have lost anything, cause he didn't have it in the first place. Unfortunately, I can't say I loved it, I liked most of it, but basically, I was pretty much confused and just lingering there, right until the 80% of the book, when "everything" was cleared out and explained, but by then, it was too late for me to engage into the story with more feelings. It's still recognizable BN TOLER's writing but the realization and interpretation of certain subjects...were, well, confusing at times and somehow "off".

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page