top of page

Thin Lies (Donati Bloodlines, #1)


5 Impossible Stars First off, let me say how much I keep enjoying Ms. Kris’ books. I love that she keeps it original. Her stories do not blend into the same plotline, characters, or romance you expect to read about after reading her series. “Thin Lies” was new and refreshing. And I loved every minute of it while immersing myself. Emma “Emmy” Sorrento is thrown into a situation she does not want to be in. She despises being forced to fulfill a duty for her family and to la famiglia, while her opinion and decisions are taken away. A responsibility of a mafia principessa to be used as seen fit for uniting two families for power. “I simply want a good, young wife, Emma Sorrento. Nothing more. A young woman who can birth me the healthy boy my first wife didn’t give me, and my mistresses seem unable to produce.” But she slowly starts to realize that her life wasn’t all that it seemed, the reality of it all in front of her face that she did not want to see. “She had always been stupid. Spoiled into submission. Tricked like an idiot. And now she was the one being used.” “I was promised a girl who knew her place as long as she was kept and spoiled properly.” While meeting her future husband Affonso Donati she meets Calisto Donati, nephew and consigliere to the Donati dynasty. Calisto is there to make sure the engagement goes smoothly while keeping a close eye to make sure she doesn’t try to escape and put the spoiled princess on a plane to New York where her future will begin. He just never thought that he would wind up getting more than he could handle and find the one person that would capture his attention longer than any woman ever had. “It was like some kind of fucking cord had suddenly wrapped itself around his middle and tugged hard, making him step over the threshold, around the white leather couch, and closer to the woman with the smeared makeup, her mussed hair, and her pain shattering all over a hardwood floor.” The two have so many similarities from their past and futures that only two souls could ever really see in one another. “You assumed I didn’t understand. You assumed I didn’t know. Your life, your feelings, and your mistakes. You assumed. And you were wrong.” But what happens when you both make mistakes to only learn that the one person you only wanted for yourself is meant to be given to someone else? “Calisto’s restraint wavered, and he stepped forward. Closer to sin. Closer to his next mistake. It was bad, but it had to be good. He knew it was wrong. It still felt right.” And your future was sealed to a man you will never love or respect. But feel the pain and heartache over and over when you see the one man that capturers your heart and soul. “Tears dampened Emma’s lashes all over again. He felt so much better than good. Insane, even. Deep in her soul, it hurt, too.” I cannot wait to see how book 2 "Thin Live" of the Donati Bloodlines plays out. My mind is already thinking of all the amazing possibilities after being left with a cliffhanger! Yes. There is a Cliffy!!

All I can say is that every time I read one of Bethany's books I'm always thinking how this is going to all plan out and I feel like I've figured it out. Then Ms. Kris goes and turns your thinking upside down. This is one of the reasons I enjoy reading Ms. Kris' books. Her characters are never the same, they bring different feelings, characteristics. Her stories and plot lines capture the readers and you can't help to fall in love with one or many of her stories and characters. ♣ARC Graciously provided by the author in exchange for an honest review ♣

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page